Are You Doing What You Love? I Need Your Help

I’m starting today’s post off a little differently by posing the following questions: “What do you like about your life?”, “What do you not like about your life?”, and most importantly “Why aren’t you doing more of what you love and less of what you hate?”

I came across these three questions in a class reading, and they’ve stuck with me ever since. Personally, I think the first two are simple to answer:

  1. What do I like about my life?
    • I love that I have a strong relationship with my faith, family, and friends.
    • I love that I’m able to impact people through this blog, and that I have a positive outlook on where I’m going in life, even if it’s not 100% set in stone.
    • I love that I’ve transformed my life over the past year, and I’m excited to see what more will come from it.
    • I love that I’ve reconciled with my past and have learned to use it as a positive tool to shape not only my future, but also the lives of those around me.
  1. What do I not like about my life?
    • I don’t like that I spread myself too thin at school, to the point that I neglect taking care of myself. I still continue to do so despite developing various health problems.
    • I don’t like that I find relaxing to be a chore or something I have to force myself to do.
    • I don’t like that I sacrifice strengthening my relationships both spiritually and personally for school and other obligations.
    • I don’t like that I never take time to travel or explore new hobbies. In other words, I’m not taking the time to explore all life has to offer.

I think the last question is a little harder to answer, however:

Why don’t we do more of what we love?

A lot of us will probably say that we don’t have time, it’s not feasible, or even that we have no one to do it with. You could call these answers, but they’re more like excuses. They’re the things we tell ourselves to stay comfortable because change isn’t easy.

In all honesty, there’s nothing about your life that you can’t change. I’m not going to give you a story about a kid from poverty becoming a CEO or how so many sinners in the Bible became saints. You already know them. You’ve read them a thousand times. Instead, I’m giving you the truth, which is that we live in a time where anything is possible. You hate your job? Great, look for another one. Don’t get bogged down in the “what ifs”. Chase your passion, and you’ll find a way to make it work.

The greatest barrier to this is ourselves. It’s the fact that we come up with excuses. It’s the fact that change is scary, and it might be hard. It’s the fact that we’d rather complain for a lifetime about doing something we hate instead of taking a risk to do something we love.

That’s exactly why I’m not doing more of what I love. It’s easier to let my mind hold me back than to take the leap of faith. It sucks to say that, but it’s true.

How do you fix that? Make the time. Check out the following infographic…

1b5055502d57750214d75d43492db65f

As you can see, we have the time to make life what we want, we just don’t take advantage of it. So, let’s use our resources to change our lives and do what we love!

Comment below with what you’re struggling to accomplish. If you’ve found a way around it, share it! We all can learn from each other. Feel free to message me if you don’t feel comfortable sharing it online.

And before you go, I need your help. I want to create my own domain for this website, which basically means get rid of the “.wordpress” part of the URL. All I have to do is pay a fee, but the name of my blog is bothering me. It’s transformed from a nutrition-focus to a lifestyle-focus, so I think it’s time to rebrand. However, I really like the “break free” part, and many of you have said the same. So if you have an idea or think I should leave it the way it is, comment below!

As always, thanks for reading and have a great day 🙂

 

Infographic article link: https://www.socialmediatoday.com/marketing/how-much-time-do-people-spend-social-media-infographic

5 thoughts on “Are You Doing What You Love? I Need Your Help

  1. We are definitely cut from the same cloth! This was such an awesome post. Sometimes it’s so hard to get past the “what ifs” but at the end of the day we each have to recognize we are the CEO of our lives!

    I liked the graphs and visuals in the post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment